Hi Everyone! The QPK society just had their one year anniversary meeting. It's hard to believe it's been a whole year since the idea for our writing club was born. 
     All four of us have been working on our novels and short stories and were excited to begin discussing and critiquing them. We each had a turn to conduct an activity. This is a custom we have had since the first meeting, which allows each of us to share our ideas. When one person is leading an activity, they sit at the front and have the floor, with no interruptions from other group members. 
    We started off with M doing opening announcements, something we do at every meeting. Next, R carried out her usual job of doing words of the day. This meeting's words were:
1. Lewd - indecent, obscene, lascivious.
2. Jabber - chatter volubly and incoherently.
3. Solemnity - the state of being solemn.
Next, K did a short character sketch involving asking your favorite character, in your current work in progress, random questions such as what did you eat for breakfast, and what type of shoes do you wear, to gain more insight into the character. R ran a discussion of what our writing goals are for the coming year, and what we completed in the past year. After this, S's activity was to write a short story from the prompt "the librarian was dead". We then discussed differences in our styles of writing. At the end, M lead a discussion about problems we were having with our writing, and we discussed solutions to these problems.
We hope you try out a couple of these activities for yourself and have fun!
Lauren B.
2/20/2012 10:11:17 pm

Hey everyone. This website is great I took the survey and did The character Party activity I think I learned a lot about my characters. Your meeting sounds so much fun. I like the way not only did you do writing activities but also did diccusions. I am having a little bit of a problem on my short story and was wondering if I could post it here and you guys could take a look at it and give me some feed back. Thanks so much for this website it helped a lot with my characters.

Reply
2/21/2012 05:33:20 am

Hi Lauren, it's great to hear that you enjoyed the character party activity. We would be glad to give you some feedback, but could you post your story here as a link?
-M

Reply
2/22/2012 04:40:07 am

Hi Lauren, I'm taking a look at your story now, I'm not goin gto approve the comment that contains the story because it is quite long, but S and I will read it, and then one or both if us will give you some feedback when we get the chance.

Reply
Lauren B.
2/21/2012 06:13:50 am

Hey QPK society I had 2 questions:
1. How do I post it as a link
2. Would you mind if I told my school newspaper about this website? My friends and I are on it and we all love to write.
Thanks
P.S. My friend always puts little boxes down at the bottom of the pages in the newspaper with books, and websites that are good. Would you mind if she put this website on.

Reply
2/21/2012 07:09:22 am

First of all, I think it would be fine if you posted some of your story (depending on how long it is) in the comments section without the link (it would probably be less trouble for you). Also, it would be great if you told your friends at the newspaper about the site. it's open to anyone who loves to write!

Reply
2/24/2012 10:31:40 pm

Hey Lauren,
Sorry it took so long to get back to you about your writing. I've been very busy lately. First of all, I really enjoyed your story. It's entriguing that it is about a twelve year old that is a detective,I'm not sure if you explain how she came to be the best detective they have earlier in the story, but unless you include this, readers might be a bit confused.

Also, some of the things that you put in brackets don't need to have the brackets, they can just be things that your character is telling the reader.
I really liked your dialoue, but something that would make it flow better is to add some body language after certain sentences, such as "she shrugged" or "She brushed her hair out of her eyes" and things like that.
I really liked how Red started to discover what happened in the apartment, but you say "and when something hit me" quite a few times. I think, to add interest, you could find another way to say this.

My last suggestion of you is that you read the whole thing aloud. This will allow you to hear how the dialogue sounds, and see if everything flows. This is what I do with a lot of my writing (sometimes I read it to the other group members).

Great writing, keep up the good work!
-M

Reply
Isaura
3/12/2012 10:09:20 pm

Wow, great site! Can i share stuff like words too?

Reply
3/13/2012 04:02:28 am

Thanks! We'd love if you'd share some words :)

Reply
Lauren B.
5/25/2012 04:37:02 am

Hi everyone!! Sorry I haven't posted in a while, I've been super busy. Thanks so much for the comments M, I really appreciated them. I was wondering if you guys could maybe do an update on how your books and novels are going. I also wanted to know that by reading your site I was able to get my own QPK society going. Almost all the activities that we have been doing have come off this site. Do you guys think it would be okay if I posted some of the activities that aren't on this site on the activities page?
Also I think that it would be cool if you guys made another blog that could be all for people wanting help on their novels. It would be like and online QPK society!!!
Thanks again
Lauren B.

Reply
5/25/2012 09:10:50 am

We've been busy as well! If we can we will give some updates on how our writing is going. It's great that you started your own writing group! If you post your writing activities in the comments of the activities blog then we will approve them to the site. I like your idea about another blog to help people with their writing, but I think it will be too much work for us, especially because it's a busy time of year. Thanks for your input!
-RKSM

Reply
Lauren B.
5/25/2012 04:38:55 am

Sorry again guys this is a continuation of my last post;
I just wanted to say that thanks to the words of the day I think that my writing has gotten a lot better.
Also I just wanted to tell you that I named my dictionary Reggie as well.
Thanks again
Lauren B.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.