Based on experience, I've compiled a list of the top five reasons I get bored when writing my novel. It's this boredom that leads future famous novelists to say "Good Riddance!" and begin a new project.

1. Your novel is dreary. You might as well be watching paint dry.
Fix: Make your characters more interesting by giving them odd quirks or more difficult goals to achieve. Add some spice to your plot by throwing in a few really tense scenes. If it's a certain part of your story that is making your eyelids droop, stop where you are and skip to a different part! Maybe you'll find out the you don't need the boring part after all.

2. You hate spending time with your characters. Occasionally you say to yourself "Why don't I drop a bomb on all these lousy people."
Fix: First, why is it that you don't like them? For me, I often read a really good book and think about how my characters have nowhere near as much depth and interest as the characters I read about. If this is the case, consider what the author you are reading has done to create such lifelike characters. Try and apply some of the techniques she/he used to your characters. Characters can always be remolded. Nothing is set in stone. You can always go back and change your characters appearances and give them litle quirks and different voices.

3. You're watching TV and using "I think my novel's boring" as an excuse for not using your time productively. 
Fix: I'm not sure whether there's too much advice I can give you about this one, but one thing I can do, is say that, at least for me, once I sit down and start writing, I find it hard to start watching TV again.

4. Cute Baby Animals, nuff said.
Fix: Seriously, this is a big one. I play on a soccer team, and whenever any dogs are in the vicinity, no one focuses on soccer for a good ten minutes. The best thing you can do about this one is to plan your writng time when there are no cute things around (babies included).

5. You've been working yourself too hard.
Fix: Maybe you have been busy with other work, or you need to clean your room, maybe you've walked your dog, or already worked on your writing every day this week. No matter what the reason is, the only thing you can do is TAKE A BREAK. Just have a nap, or read a book, go for a walk, or play a  sport. Even watch a little TV! Go on, I give you permission to rest for as long as you need to get rejuvenated.

So go ahead! Fall back in love with your writing!
Happy Writing!
-M






Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.